Moms – Where Would We Be Without Them?

Mom? Where is my phone?

Mom? Where are my shoes?

Mom? What’s for lunch?

Moms…Where would we be without them?

For many of us, we have taken our mother for granted. She is always there when you need her most. Remember when you were born? Your mother does. Remember your first breath? Your mother does. Remember your first dirty diaper? Trust me, she will never forget that!

I don’t know about you but when I was born, I wasn’t exactly prepared to take out my smart phone and order myself a pizza. In fact, I couldn’t do anything but scream as I was later told. I couldn’t even lift my head. I was completely helpless. But my mother was there! She was there to nurse me, change my diapers, clothe me, and carry me. If it wasn’t for my mom, I would not have survived my very first day.

As I grew up, my mother continued to be there for me. She walked me to the school bus on my first day of school. She was there when I got on my bike for the first time and helped me to my feet when I fell, which was often. To be honest, I still continue to fall “off my bike” and she is always there offering her hand to me to help me up.

She offered support when I needed help with homework. She made amazing birthday cakes – one was in a shape of Mickey Mouse! She was there to cheer me on during the good times and provided a shoulder to cry on during my disappointments.  She watched me leave home with a smile on her face and a tear in her eye. And whenever I visit, she always welcomes me back home.

There are many fantastic quotes about mothers at The 41 Best Quotes About Moms.

One quote that stands out to me is:

“The natural state of motherhood is unselfishness. When you become a mother, you are no longer the center of your own universe. You relinquish that position to your children.” – Jessica Lange.

That describes my mother most. As the youngest of five children, our mother never put herself above the needs of her children. In our household, she held multiple positions: cook, teacher, maid, seamstress, nurse, chauffer, sports fan, mediator, and on and on and on.

Check out this video which posts an unusual vacant position. For those women who do not have children, you may be surprised at the ending. For mothers, you will be amazed that you survived.

So as you can see, it takes tremendous dedication to be the mother of your child. Having a child is no small task; it is a commitment. No longer are you living for yourself or the child’s father. You are living for your child. And if you have more than one child, all the more you must be committed to their well being.

Therefore, before a woman makes the commitment to a man, think twice because there is no going back past conception of your child. Unlike the misconception broadcast by a growing number media and cinema, pregnancy is not a disease that you ought to self diagnose and terminate with a pill. An expectant mother cannot play God, for who knows the future that the yet to be born child may have.

“I’ve noticed that everyone who is for abortion has already been born.” – Ronald Reagan

Let that sink in.

Perhaps, you are pregnant with a child and do not know what to do, where to go, or who to turn to. Or, you are scared and all alone. There are people who can help you. Contact your best friend. Reach out to a leader at a community church. Just don’t try to do it alone. While I am not a paid sponsor, I would recommend reaching out to American Adoptions.  There are many resources available for you to review.

We all have a mother. American or Russian or Arab – we all have a mother. Boy or girl – we all have a mother. Rich or poor – we all have a mother. Democrat or Republican – we all have a mother.

Don’t wait for Mother’s Day. Thank her today.

Thank you moms for being the very best moms you could ever possibly be.

Article by John Coder

Posted July 4, 2014

One thought on “Moms – Where Would We Be Without Them?

  1. I believe in most mothers, they are last on their list of who to take care of, last in order of things to do for, last to get their meal. I would believe that there were mothers who fought to give women the right to vote. My opinion is that this article, video, and quotes about mothers are very true.

    Like

Leave a Reply

